My pages have parents and children now.

I’m almost finished the write-ups for the albums on the Discography sidebar at the right. My brain is sore. Just a few more to go.

Some of the descriptions are pretty skeletal, while others seem to end up talking more about what was going on during the recording of an album instead of what’s on the album itself. The idea isn’t to explain everything (because that would take far too long), but to give anyone who’s interested a bit of an idea of what some of these CDs are like.

I’m probably the worst person to write about the music, because I’ve never been able to be very objective about my own stuff. Most of the time I just hear what’s wrong with it, and have rarely been able to divorce myself from a critical position. I always thought it would be interesting to be able to listen to my stuff as if someone else had recorded it, like all the other music I’ve ever listened to, from a different mental space. What can you do?

Anyway. I will probably tweak some of the write-ups over time, adding some bits, getting rid of others, and I hope to soon have album cover images and other such relevant things up there. What fun it be.

5 comments

  1. Well…I have to admit I’ve been kind of slacking off on the recording front. Shame on me. But once I’m finished with that discography stuff, which I almost am, I will have no excuse. I need to record some of those stinkin’ banjo songs. I swear they band together at night and bang on my bedroom door, shouting all kinds of abusive things at me like, “You were born without a muffler!” and, “Long live the butler!” It’s all pretty disheartening.

  2. Hey Johnny, I just realised yesterday that the discography was there. I read through a few of the album descriptions and I had to think that it was amazing that you’ve had time for recording anything at all with all the writing!

  3. Maybe they are abusing you or maybe they are suggesting themes for future banjo songs? Maybe something stirring to a 1-and-a-2 strum, like: “Long live the butler, for he was the truly noble servant, never shying from adversity, ‘though he ever was a peasant …” or something like that.

  4. This is too scary – I had a dream that I was in your kitchen and you were singing the butler song for me, except you changed the words a bit on the second line …

  5. That’s funny, because just the other night I was sitting around strumming on the banjo and saying the words in sort of a gruff Irish accent, thinking, “This should be a song!” Maybe next time in your dream I’ll have added an additional verse or two.

Leave a Reply

