How Johnny got his groove back.

I put another new song up on Spyspace just now. I have to make sure I don’t do too much of that, or people will end up hearing a whole album in bits and pieces before it’s even finished, and then the new CD will have nothing surprising on it at all. Gotta keep some mystery alive.

The new song that’s up on Myspace is a bit of a funny one. I recorded the Wurlitzer and vocals yesterday, and then went on to work on other songs, not sure what to do with it. Late last night I got an idea for the instrumental part, for drums and other instruments to come in — something atmospheric and kind of lush, at least by my standards.

It didn’t quite work out as I expected. But it rarely does. At least it sort of turned out like I thought it would. Today I added bass, drums, a bit of additional singing (I guess I have some sort of compulsion to sing words that aren’t words where other people would just leave things instrumental for a while…I’ve learned to just embrace it and let it happen), and messed around with recording the Teisco for the first time.

The plan was for there to be several guitars in there, but one seemed to do the job just fine. I dig that tremolo arm.

I played with the mix for a few minutes and then committed it to CD.

Over the past few days I’ve worked on about a dozen different songs. At least a third of them have been mixed and are more or less CD-ready. I think the best plan would be to commit to putting together THE CHICKEN ANGEL WOMAN WITH A TRIANGLE, because I seem to be recording a lot of things that would work well in the context of what that album looks like in my head, and maybe if I work at it I can get the thing done by the end of next month.

Having a new CD to give people would be a pretty strange experience at this point. It’s been a long time since I was in the position where I could say, “Here’s something. Eat it!” Not that many people have attempted to ingest my music. Or at least not to my knowledge. But you never know what goes on behind closed doors and on shiny hardwood floors.

The main thing is, I’ve been more productive over the last few days than I have in the past month. If I can just keep my stupid sleep in halfway decent shape, I don’t see any reason why it shouldn’t continue.

Leave a Reply

