A new album hits the street, just in time for a Hallmark holiday.

The new album is now officially available at Phog and Dr. Disc for whoever might want it. Copies will soon be going out in the mail to lots of non-Windsor-dwelling people.

The initial run had three typos in the booklet I somehow missed until after everything was printed/assembled. If you’re one of the three people to end up with a copy from that run, you should either destroy it while laughing maniacally or keep it and sell it for a fortune on eBay when I get signed to a major record label at the behest of Avril Lavigne. I just couldn’t let the CD go out into the world knowing those typos were there. At first I thought, “Well…ethic instrument is kind of amusing, and piece of mind is a common mistake. I can live with those.”

Then I noticed I somehow found a way to misspell bliss as bilss. FUCKING BILSS.

I know our eyes and brains tend to correct that sort of thing. That’s how I missed the typo in the first place. But once I saw it, bilss began to haunt me at night. Minuteman Press came through once again and reprinted the booklets at blinding speed. They do great work for me, and it seems to get better each time. I think this is something like the thirteenth album I’ve had them print the inserts for now, the third time we’ve done a bona fide booklet, and only the second time I’ve ever printed the lyrics with the CD. Now that I’ve done it twice, I think I’m starting to like it.

You’ll notice two tracks are missing the lyrics. That’s because I improvised the words to those songs and didn’t see fit to print them. Technically there are other places where I could have neglected to print the lyrics (most of the words to “Skull Jugglers” were improvised too), but I thought it would have looked funny. I have a system, people. I don’t think it’s too hard to figure out what I’m singing in most places anyway. I push my voice up pretty high in the mix these days, and I think I enunciate pretty well.

I still don’t know how I didn’t see those typos until it was too late. I read over the text countless times, and looked at a proof after that, and I thought I’d seen it all. That seems to be the way it always goes, though. Stupid typos being sneaky and all. I’ve also been putting up the odd poster here and there, so be fearful of seeing the horror that is me on a wall somewhere.

I just participated in a radio interview with Travis about his new album and CD release show on The Rock the other day (100.7 FM, or 95.1 in the Chatham-Kent area), with Theresa at the helm. That’s a good name, iddnit? Theresa. I like her. She’s fun. The interview will air on Valentine’s Day at 8:00 pm. Why do I find that hilarious? I guess I’m a romantic at heart.

I have to say I like the way the new album came out looking. There isn’t a single picture or piece of art anywhere on (or in) it — just text, text, and more text — but I like the font I chose, and the mixture of black/white/red, and how it all turned out. I guess I’ve gotten better at the layout side of things over the years. And I like the way the lyrics look as white text on a black background instead of the other way around. Perhaps you will too. Or maybe this is all a dream, and none of us are real, and this blog doesn’t even exist. Now that would be a mindjob and a half, wouldn’t it?

Anyway. It’ll be interesting to see what people make of the new album in the weeks ahead. I think I’m pretty happy with it. And I find it funny that the only swear word on the whole album appears not in the lyrics, but in a song title.

Leave a Reply

