Oh happy dog.

I now have two more overlooked Paul McCartney albums to add as a postscript to my thoughts on the subject of overlooked McCartney from a little over a week ago. Wasn’t expecting that.

I have quite a few McCartney and Wings albums, but somehow I’d never heard Ram before. I saw it at Dr. Disc and thought I might as well pick it up just for something to do.

Jesus Christ is it good. What a wonderfully weird little album. It’s immediately become one of my favourite things the man has done post-Beatles. It’s that tasty. The critics crapped all over it at the time, but the critics can suck my Czechoslovakian sausage.

I was inspired to start digging through some other Paul McCartney albums I haven’t heard in a long time, wondering what else might reveal itself, and Tug of War is second on the list. I don’t think it’s as great as Ram, and it’s a bit on the slick side (I prefer it when Paul gets more ragged and organic), but it’s a far more interesting album than I thought it was the last time I listened to it about thirteen years ago. It’s all over the place, and there are some great songs. I had no idea the gorgeous “Wanderlust” was about Paul’s marijuana bust a few years earlier. I’ll never hear that song quite the same way again.

Another interesting tidbit: Ram marks the beginning, more or less, of the feud-through-song thing John and Paul had going for a while, which culminated in John’s venomous “How Do You Sleep?”. Here Paul takes a shot at his former musical partner in the first song, though he isn’t too nasty about it. The real shot comes in a picture on the back cover that shows one beetle fucking another.

For anyone who still thinks Paul is sappy and has no edge, I direct you to this harshly funny insect-driven metaphor.

Elsewhere, I believe today is the last day to vote for CJAM’s Jammy Awards. Though I don’t even remotely expect to win the “best local artist/band” award (I’m still kind of surprised I was even in the running last year), I’d like to thank anyone who may have voted for me, for whatever crazy reason. I can’t even remember which shows I voted for anymore, but I’m sure they were good ones.

I’ve been mixing some things, and tomorrow I will be recording some things. The excitement! There’s nothing like committing to completing a gargantuan project on the internet to get things moving.

Leave a Reply

