Darlin’-honey, that’s just part of lettin’ go.

For one hour a week MuchMusic stops being a shitty propaganda receptacle and dips into more “alternative” territory with a show called The Wedge. I’ve tuned in from time to time over the years, because even though I think at least half of what they play isn’t any better than the crap that gets played the rest of the time, every once in a while something cool pops up. Like an old video by the Cocteau Twins, or My Bloody Valentine, or PJ Harvey. And every once in a great while, there’s something new that doesn’t make my ears cry. Like a Wax Mannequin video. Or this.

This is a song by a band called Madrid. Good luck digging up much information about them. From what little I’ve been able to unearth, it looks like they’ll be releasing an album in the next month or so. Hopefully they put this version of the song on it and not the remix from an EP they released a little while ago. I couldn’t even tell you what it is about the song that grabs me…it just does. There’s something nostalgic and otherworldly about it. I’m sure the video has a little bit to do with it as well.

Note to self: always choose the dark-haired girl over the ski instructor who promises he can shape me into a champion, regardless of how cynical my feelings about “romance” become.

Even if the ski instructor has a moustache.

Especially if he has a moustache.

Leave a Reply

