Citrus fresh.

Every so often I’ll type one of my song titles or a lyric into a search engine and hit enter just for fun. While I don’t always find things that have anything to do with me, random searches have been known to produce some interesting results. Yesterday I thought I would try “Please Remember to Forget Me”, for no particular reason.

Instead of random silliness I found myself at the website for a podcast called Cold Citrus, created by a dude in London, England, and discovered he’d been playing my music since late 2009. As well as I can suss it out, he must have somehow come across CHICKEN ANGEL WOMAN when I put it up on the CLLCT website, where tons of people from all different places share free MP3s.

The site eventually went offline for a while, all of the content was lost, and I didn’t end up re-uploading my files because in the interim my feelings about MP3s shifted a bit. I still think the website is a great idea, and there’s lots of very cool music there that you won’t hear anywhere else. I’ve just realized I’m very much a hard copy guy when it comes to the dissemination of my own music in album form.

Anyway. I think it’s pretty cool, and a pretty big compliment, that someone as far away as England thought enough of my music to make it a part of his internet radio show without any prodding from me. The first podcast I came across was this one, which features my music both at the beginning and end of the show, and there’s a moment early on where he quotes from a then-new blog entry of mine that just about made me fall over from laughing. I forgot all about that little rant.

I guess i don’t mince words when someone ruins a Beatles song.

You can listen right here, if you’re so inclined:

I’ve got reach! Thanks to Shaun for giving me some English exposure. Hopefully I’ll get the opportunity to send him some newer music at some point.

Speaking of complaining about stuff, I think it’s safe to say Live Wire Audio have lost my business. A week or two back I vented about a CD player that stopped working. I bought it from them back in December of 2008, along with a full hi-fi system and some beefy PSB speakers. Two years for a fairly high-end CD player is not a good run in my book. I have a few much cheaper and supposedly inferior all-in-one CD players that are more than a decade old now, and they’re still going strong.

I was told the problem with the CD player was a simple fix and something that shouldn’t take too long to take care of. It was sent back to NAD through Live Wire so they could take a look at it.

A few weeks later, it came back. Nothing had been done to it. They determined the laser mechanism that reads CDs needed to be replaced, and it would cost $30 or so. The labour for replacing the part would cost more than twice that much, which I think is a complete rip-off. All told, with tax/shipping/whatever, it comes to more than $130.

This is a CD player I bought two years ago that has been incredibly well cared-for, used very gently, and is in immaculate condition. I could buy a brand new, warranty-enhanced replacement CD player for not much more than that amount of money. Matter of fact, that’s what I ended up doing at Audio Two so I would have a backup player until the NAD thing was back in working order.

Today Johnny Smith and I popped in at Live Wire to ask two questions — what is the warranty on this replacement part, and how long can we expect the turnaround time to be? We’ve already lost a few weeks and nothing at all has been done. A guy who works there — I’ll call him The Nice One — said he was sure there was a warranty. Probably sixty or ninety days (which is pathetic). He said he would call to find out. He did make a phone call, but he got an answering machine and then went off to do something else. We were then approached by another guy who works there. I’ll call him The Other One.

The Other One had been handling the order from the beginning, for the most part. I asked him the same questions I asked The Nice One.

“We just need you to give us the money and then we can get it sent off and fixed,” he said, smiling, ignoring every word that came out of my mouth, giving me no useful information.

“Well,” I said, “If it’s just going to break again in a year or two I don’t really see the point in spending the money. It doesn’t seem like a sound investment to me if it isn’t built to last and there’s no real warranty there.”

His jolly disposition vanished and he said, very curt and condescending, “I don’t have a wizard’s hat. So I can’t help you there. I mean, I don’t have a crystal ball.”

In other words, Don’t ask questions, and don’t ask me to do my job. Shut up and cough up the money. And by the way, your business doesn’t mean a thing to me, especially in a case like this where I don’t stand to make much money either way.

It just so happens that I do have a wizard’s hat. You know what I’ve gathered from the powers of perception it has bestowed upon me? Live Wire just lost a customer. I know you’ve got plenty of other people to overcharge and condescend to, but put that in your nonexistent crystal ball and chew on it a while, Other One. Chew it good.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

