A gift for you.

Well, it’s time for me to pack it in. I’ve made a lot of music over the years, warped a few minds, touched a few hearts…but the thrill is gone, and I have nothing left to say. Best to quit while you’re ahead. So I’m officially retiring from making music. What’s next for me, you ask? I think I might chop off my hair, shave off the beard, and get a job at Tim Hortons.

In parting, I decided to do something special for some of the people who might be interested in checking out my music but are a little overwhelmed by how many CDs there are and don’t feel like digging into the original albums. I’ve compiled the very best work I’ve ever done and put it on one fat-free CD. I’ve also come around to the realization that digital distribution is the wave of the future, so it’s a digital-only release in MP3 form, and you have to pay $35 if you want an actual hard copy that doesn’t sound like donkey balls.

Here’s the artwork and track list.

CLICK HERE to download the free MP3s, and thanks for the memories.

8 comments

    1. I know! Ever since “Chicken Angel Woman” I’ve just been mining the same vein over and over again. I’ve known it’s time to hang it up for a while now. I just needed to hear Rebecca Black’s brilliant hit song “Friday” to realize how high the bar has been set, and how I can never hope to write anything that good.

  1. Oh my god! Friday!!!! I was going to email you a link to the you tube of it, but looks like you beat me to it.

    That song (and her film clip) has to be the funniest parody of popular music ever not made. I could hardly keep from pissing my pants laughing the whole way through.

  2. Johnny ! I’m sorry I didn’t get back to you sooner, but that song you sent me was just fucking incredible. I was only able to play it by sending it tomyself via email…… I don’t why how that was the case, or even how I figured out that by doing it, it would act as a solution to my being able to listen.
    I, of course, have been meaning to get back sooner, but I’ve had my G5 in and out of the shop (soon to go back). Anyway, That song I must have listened to 25 + times. I love the simplicity, the economy of instrumentation w/ that savagely beautiful guitar and I had no idea that you could sing with such “grounded” presence. You are way over due for a record deal. but that is probably another matter entirely. If you can, do you have a way of sending that song to me in a more accessible form ?

    Please let me know
    And please send anything else that is in the league / quality of that material.

    BTW: of course I remember you and our emails
    forgive my bad spelling

    And please RE-CONSIDER your retirement

    All the best & Love

    John K Berry

    1. John! So great to hear from you. And thanks so much for the kind words.

      Rumours of my retirement (which I started myself) have been grossly exaggerated. The whole thing was a twisted April Fools’ Day joke. I always mean to do something ridiculous on this day, and I always forget, so this time I couldn’t resist. I don’t think i’ll be able to stop making music until I’m dead…so not to worry. If you have a current email address you could give me, I’d be happy to send you some stuff in more accessible form. If you’re comfortable sending me your snail mail address in an email, I’ll just send you a bunch of recent CDs in the mail. I enjoy doing that sort of thing.

  3. Do not scare me like this!
    It was a pleasure meeting you in the flesh at the Jammys.
    I hope you’ll play live soon. That would be a treat.

    1. Sorry for the scare…I couldn’t resist.

      It was nice meeting you too. I don’t know about other live shows, but I can tell you the Shores of Erie Wine Festival thing is definitely a go for Sunday, September 11. That should be interesting. I’d like to look at doing another Mackenzie Hall show at some point, but I’m not sure I’d want to do the same extended one-man-show thing I did last time. Wouldn’t want it to get too stale or predictable.

Leave a Reply

