Even death could not erase the expression of awe on his face.

I’m starting to feel like there should be some relevant video content on as many of the dedicated album pages as possible, whether it’s a live performance, “in studio” footage, or a music video made by skewing public domain films. To that end, here’s something I can now put on the page for CHICKEN ANGEL WOMAN — a different take on “Peculiar Love” I decided to record yesterday without bothering to rehearse beforehand, hoping I remembered the words.

There’s one ugly piano note in there, and I mess up a key line at the end. But I kind of like the image of blowing someone a kiss without having the use of your limbs, as opposed to them blowing you a kiss while you hang on their wall. So maybe it works. I dunno. I also like how the feeling of the song changes when it’s played on piano and the rhythm is mostly deflated. Between that and the lack of vocal multi-tracking the words are thrown into sharper relief.

It still stands as one of the least complex things I’ve written from a musical standpoint, built around a dead-simple chord progression. But one of the fun things about the piano is the ability it gives you to mess with chord voicings and inject some subtle movement where there normally wouldn’t be much, if any. Too bad I didn’t notice that mic cord dangling in the middle of the frame until after the fact. I did at least manage to throw in an alternate angle I could cut to a few times by setting up both little video cameras to record at the same time.

Still have no idea what the next album is going to sound like, but I’m getting back into the swing of things. I think the best course of action would be to do what I usually do — record a whole lot of different stuff and figure out what I want to do with it later.

I need to try and force myself to get back into writing more on the piano. I always find myself grabbing a guitar (easy to do when there are so many of them lying around in various places) when the writing happens these days. It’s about time the black and white beast asserted itself again and took center stage, instead of being relegated to more of a textural thing.

This month’s video progress report should show up by the end of the week.

Leave a Reply

