Cover me.

A funny thought occurred to me just the other day.

For years now, I’ve been kicking around the idea of recording an album of cover songs. Every once in a while I’ll find myself recording someone else’s song, putting my own spin on it, and thinking if I did this sort of thing often enough, eventually there might be enough material for a full album.

Not that I’m anywhere near that point yet. But a little while back, I pulled out my take on “Walking on the Moon”, which I’d all but forgotten about. And I thought, “Hey! I like this! This is good! This would be a good opening track on my hypothetical covers album!”

This got the ideas bouncing around again, and I wrote out “rough list of songs worth tackling #642”. The odd/interesting thing is, these are not, as you might expect, songs that have really had any “influence” on me or what I do. They’re just songs I like and think I could do something interesting with.

So far, every single projected cover song I’d like to tackle was originally recorded in the 1980s. Make of that what you will.

The funny realization was this: because of the cost involved in obtaining the rights to put these songs on an album, I would probably end up limiting myself to ten or a dozen of them at most, so as not to end up spending more money getting permission to record the songs themselves than on the actual making and packaging of the album.

I think it’s kind of hilarious that it’s possible I might someday make the kind of short, concise, ten-song album some people have long wished for me to produce (clearly these are people who haven’t investigated albums like BRAND NEW SHINY LIE), with the catch that not a single song on it will be my own.

That’s just perverse enough to get me more interested in this idea of a covers album than I’ve been in a long time.

So, once THE ANGLE OF BEST DISTANCE is out of the way, along with a collection of cast-offs that may or may not be billed as another misfits collection and whatever more digestible “normal” album comes next, maybe it’ll happen.

Also, those missing albums at CJAM have now been replaced. Hallelujah, praise the fjord.

Leave a Reply

