Making the wrong mistakes.

Still haven’t quite got my momentum back blog-wise. I am, however, in the process of capturing the recording of a song on video so I can put it up here. Finally. I thought I should make good on the threat at some point before the world ends, since they say that’s going to happen in a little less than two months now. Look out for that in a day or three, hopefully, maybe.

In the meantime, here is a random song. This one was an out-take recorded during the LOVE SONGS FOR NIHILISTS sessions. It’s really just a casual improvisation around a few chords. More of a mood than a song. And while I like the mood well enough, it never felt like album material. It’ll probably end up on another out-takes compilation at some point.

Still, I pulled it out for a listen a few days ago for the first time in a long while, and I think I like it more now than I did at the time it was recorded. It doesn’t really go anywhere, but maybe not all songs need to have clear destinations. I like that there’s no set rhythm to the thing and the drums just shuffle around and whisper in the background. The electric guitar was recorded with a very distant mic for a change. Not that you can tell with all the reverb it’s swimming in.

It might not have hurt to play around with layering more sounds to make things more interesting on a sonic level. Alas, I think that ship has sailed. I’d feel funny messing with the song this late in the game.

More soon.

Making the Wrong Mistakes

Leave a Reply

