2016, you elbowed my spleen.

boxing

I’m not sure how it’s 2017, and yet another year has gone to the graveyard of years.

2016 was another one of those years in which I didn’t get as much accomplished — or finished, at least — as I hoped. But looking back at it, maybe it was a little more productive than I thought. At least three major projects saw the light of day: Natalie’s album (which I recorded and played a lot of things on), the first O-L West album (a tag-team effort with Steve), and Ron’s new album (which I got to play a small but very rewarding supporting role on). And a good amount of meaningful work was done on other things that didn’t hit the finish line.

I think you’re supposed to outline your goals at the beginning of each New Year, and then you’ll be visited by three spirits in various stages of undress. At least that’s what the fortune cookie told me. So, some goals for 2017:

  • Finish YEAR OF THE SLEEPWALK. I think I’m in a place now where I can finally take that one off the back burner and give it the attention it deserves. There are a few more people I’d like to try and get over here to contribute some playing or singing, but most of the work that’s left now is just stuff I need to do on my own.
  • Finish THE ANGLE OF BEST DISTANCE. Yeah. I know. But I need to finish that beast someday, and it’s not an impossible job.
  • Compile a second volume of out-takes and misfits. There’s a ton of material for a collection that would pick up where the last one left off, stretching from CHICKEN ANGEL WOMAN to the present.
  • Finish off the next Papa Ghostface album. That one’s coming along pretty nicely and shouldn’t be too difficult to tie up in the next twelve months.
  • Take care of the rest of that whole “remastering a bunch of albums that were mastered too loud the first time” thing I started with good intentions and then abandoned when all the protracted construction noise got to be too much.
  • Maybe make good on the occasional threat to write an album that returns to the “avoiding repetition and rhyming at all costs” approach.
  • Never trim the beard again (this won’t happen, but still).
  • Contemplate the mysteries of life.

I think most of that is doable. Maybe.

The ideal thing would be to get at least four albums finished for the year, two of which have been a while in the making. Of course, as we all know, announcing your plans is a good way to hear several giant pastries laugh at you.

Leave a Reply

